RSS Feed

Simple Roasted Pumpkin Seeds AND the Easiest Method to Removing Seeds EVER!

Posted on

Simple Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

It’s that time again…temperatures have fallen, leaves are changing, and Thanksgiving is right around the corner…which means it’s PUMPKIN TIME!!

Fall = Time for Pumpkins!

I know many people who live for pumpkin time…Pumpkin Spice Lattes, Pumpkin Pie, Bread, Muffins, you name it. Even people who have zero interest in using fresh pumpkin for baking will usually grab a few for their front porch fall or Halloween decoration. And while not all pumpkins are used in the same manner, they all have something in common…they are all filled with wonderful seeds!

I love pumpkin seeds, and after I got over the intimidation factor, I realized it is so super easy to roast them; my kids can even do it!

Of course, the first step is to remove the seeds from the pumpkin, which is usually the most daunting task of the whole project…but I have a surprise for you! I am going to share with the EASIEST method to scooping out seeds! Even better, you don’t have to read it! J Just watch this quick video.

See? I told you it was awesome. 😉

IMG_0747 (800x600)

Now that you have your seeds, it’s time to prep them.

Soak them, giving them a little swirl here and there. About 15 minutes.

IMG_0748 (800x600)

Drain and lightly rinse.

IMG_0750 (800x600)

Soak them again…trust me, do it again.

IMG_0751 (800x600)

Drain and rinse well.

Now – and this step is SOOOO important – lay them out on a towel (lint free is best, like a tea towel) and let them dry out overnight. I have roasted seeds dried overnight and I have roasted seeds dried for a couple/few hours. They turn out much better dried overnight. DO IT! Sorry…anywhooo…

IMG_0755 (800x600)

Now for the roasting!

For each 2 cups of seeds:

1 Tbsp Oil (whichever kind you like, this year I used peanut oil.)

½ tsp of whichever seasonings you want (if you want more, use more…just don’t totally overdo it.)

Here’s what I’ve used this year: Batch 1 was salt, fresh ground pepper, and probably about ¼ tsp paprika (maybe more, maybe less, I honestly didn’t measure). Batch 2 was plain ol’ salted. I haven’t decided on Batch 3 & 4 yet. I’d be open to suggestions. 😉

Mix the seeds, oil and seasonings together in a bowl and spread onto a cookie sheet (I use parchment paper, easy cleanup and I can reuse sheets without washing in between) in a single layer (some seeds may overlap a little, it’s ok, you don’t have to go all OCD on them, I promise.)

IMG_0734 (800x600)

Roast at 325* for about 20 minutes, and give them a stir about half way through.

IMG_0731 (800x600)

See?! I told you it was easy.

And did I mention my kids love them too?

hand grabbing seeds

See the hand that comes in like a hawk and grabs a bunch as I’m taking pictures?! Yep, that’s one of my kids…love it.

I tried to grow pumpkins this year, but failed miserably, so I ended up buying a bunch at a local pumpkin farm. Four good sized ones for carving and 4 smaller pie pumpkins. I’m roasting those to make puree for some baking. Yum!

IMG_0753 (800x600)

I have a confession, though. I was multi-tasking while roasting the pumpkins and didn’t check the tenderness when they were ‘done’…yeah, they weren’t done. Now I have to re-roast 3 out of 4 of them. Oops.

Since I shared with you my AMAZING AWESOME SUPER SIMPLE SEEDS REMOVAL (can you tell I’m excited about that…?) share with me some of your favorite pumpkin seed seasoning combos!

signaturew background

One response »

  1. Pingback: Simple Roasted Pumpkin Seeds AND the Easiest Method to Removing Seeds EVER! | Living the Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

