No Bones About It – Making Chicken Stock Using Boneless Breasts

Posted on

chickenstocktitle

So here was the problem: My poor little girls have been sick, and I wanted to make homemade stock with all the added health benefits instead of using my go-to easy-peasy chick base to make homemade chicken soup. HOWEVER…I don’t usually buy anything but boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I searched and searched for a recipe or tips on how to still make a tasty, adequate stock without using bones/carcasses and found NOTHING. Seriously…zip, zilch, nada, nothing. So, I decided it was time to experiment and make up my own…and I am so happy with the results, I think I shall share it with the world! (Or at least whomever comes across my rantings here.)   🙂

As I mentioned, my chicken purchases are almost always of the boneless, skinless variety; I seldom (pretty much as close as you can get to never without being never…is that a double negative?) buy any sort of bone-in chicken. Luckily, I found out you can make a delicious broth using some very basic ingredients and some time. >now I have to do some old-fashioned recipe-posting here since I haven’t sprung for the blog extras I need for a recipe plugin<

Ingredients:

  • 6 Chicken (med-large) Breasts
  • 2 Medium Onions (yellow or white)
  • 6 Celery stalks (including leaves)
  • 4 Large Carrots, Peeled
  • 6-7 Garlic Cloves
  • 16 Cups of Water
  • 2 tbsp Black Peppercorns
  • 1-2 tbsp Salt (I use sea salt)
  • 1 tsp Rosemary
  • 1 tsp Thyme (hey, have you got the thyme? bahahahaha!……ok, fine, bad joke :p )
  • 4 Bay leaves
  • Parsley (if you have fresh, use that, a pretty good handful…I didn’t have any, so I just used the rest of the dried parsley.)

Instructions:

  1. Chop onions, celery and carrots into large chunks, about 2 inch sections.
  2. Peel and smash garlic (turn a large knife flat to smash).
  3. In a large stock pot, add chicken breasts, chopped veggies & garlic, and water.
  4. Add peppercorns, salt, rosemary, thyme, parsley & bay leaves.
  5. Bring contents to a boil, then turn down heat to a simmer.
  6. Simmer for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
  7. Carefully remove cooked chicken breasts & set aside.
  8. Place a strainer over/in a large bowl, carefully strain broth to remove the cooked veggies and discard cooked veggies.

Yields about 16 cups of broth.

Super simple, right?! And it turned out great! I made chicken noodle soup with the stock, some fresh veggies and just over 1/2 of the cooked chicken, along with some homemade bread. Husband (who is pretty picky) said he loved it, along with my girls! Yay!

IMG_6616 (1024x831)

Chopped Veggies & Garlic

IMG_6618 (1024x791)

Chicken Breasts

IMG_6624 (1024x864)

Ready to go! It already smelled amazing at this point and it hadn’t even started cooking yet!

IMG_6631 (1024x806)

Just keep simmering, just keep simmering…simmer, simmer, simmer simmer…

IMG_6635 (1024x767)

Strain and discard the veggies (you’ve pretty much cooked everything out of them at this point) and your broth is ready to rock!

IMG_6637 (1024x768)

I found the bread recipe here; I will admit that I missed the part about a 3 hour rise in my recipe review (oops) so I rushed it along a bit, using my warm oven to speed up the rise process a bit. The bread was not as poofy as it should have been, but it’s totally delicious, and if I would have made to time to make it correctly, and had Brienna (one of my girls) not been asking every 5 minutes when the bread was going to be ready, it would have been perfect. Still yummy though.

And the best news? After not being able to keep anything – and I really mean ANYTHING – down all day, Alexis (my other of my girls) was able to drink first a cup of warm broth (I’d set some aside just for her) and then even ate some soup. Yay!

signaturew background

30 responses »

  1. So glad I found this! my 1 and 2 year old are sick, and I want to make them chicken noodle soup, but did not want to take them to store to get either chicken stock, or chicken with a bone in it. Looks and sounds good, thanks for posting it.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Chicken Stock/Broth |

  3. Pingback: No Bones About It – Making Chicken Stock Using Boneless Breasts | Living the Sweet Life

  4. Pingback: S.I.B.O. – Shit, I’m Being Ornery (cause ya know, I NEEDS THE FOODS! ALLLL THE FOODS! | The Ballad of Joe and Katie

  5. Pingback: roasted jalapeño soup | anna's bananas

  6. Thanks for the chicken broth recipe! It’s a snowy day & wanted to make homemade tomato soup with some frozen tomatoes from last summer. Alas, no chicken broth! Your recipe saved the day! Used half in tomato soup & half in chicken tortilla soup.

    Reply
  7. Alstena Calvetti

    I HAVE A VERY HUNGRY DIABETIC DOG, I’m searching for a low fat, low sodium, low calorie topping for ice berg lettuce to fill him up without raising blood gloucouse , and to keep my neighbors from being disturbed by barking, hungry dog . Do you have nutritional value of skinless boneless chicken brotalstena@hotmail.comaah, with no additives

    Reply
  8. D Aryd'ell Hotelling

    WOW! My hubby is very sensitive to foods that create a glutamate reaction- bones cooked in broth is one of the worst offenders! Now I can make chicken broth without the bones! And not 14 hours, like the other recipes. I think I will puree the veggies afterward, and add to the pup’s food. He isn’t picky and the fiber will be good for him! Thank you for sharing this. Keep on cookin’! Aryd’ell

    Reply
  9. dogs and humans have common diseases and medications, i assume you can give the diabetic dog some meat.

    Reply
  10. Cheryl Turtle

    Like you, I always buy boneless, skinless chicken, and I’m suspicious of what’s in packaged broth.

    Once I bought beef bones for the ordeal of making stock per a recipe for Italian meatball soup. Grocery stores don’t give away bones for free, and the soup was bland despite all the time and effort I invested.

    I’ll stick to boneless and your recipe. Thanks!

    Reply
  11. Thank you so much – my husband has allergies to the gelatin that comes from bones! So grateful you are the first recipe I found to help us!!

    Reply
  12. Thank you! Didn’t have any bones so I was super happy to find the one recipe for broth with boneless skinless Chicken!

    Reply
  13. can this recipe be cut in half for a smaller batch?

    Reply
  14. Oh my gosh!! This recipe is amazing! I was making cream of chicken and rice soup and I needed chicken broth thankfully I found this recipe! Delicious, just so much flavor! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I mean seriously this recipe was so flavorful I almost forgot I needed to make the soup! lol

    Reply
  15. Can I use Boneless-Skinless chicken thighs instead of Boneless-Skinless Breasts (or) a mix of both and try the same recipe?
    Sorry, I am a novice in cooking meat. Hence the ask.

    Reply
    • Absolutely! You can use whichever cut you want. Also, traditionally stock is made using bone-in cuts of meat, so if you aren’t trying to use what you have on hand (which in my case for the birth of this recipe and blog post was boneless chicken breasts) and you are grocery shopping specifically to make stock/soup, bone-in cuts are typically best. Good luck! 🙂

      Reply
    • I have to avoid all bone-in cuts, of all meats, due to hubby’s extreme glutamate sensitivity. I’ve used the boneless thighs, for myself, as I prefer the taste, while he gets the one with the boneless breasts. 🙂

      Reply
  16. Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    Reply
  17. Pingback: How to Make Chicken Broth (Roasted) - Natasha's Home

  18. I am so thankful for this recipe. Our son has brain cancer and can not have bone broth due to the gelatin in the bones it interacts with his chemotherapy treatment. I have been looking for a recipe to be able to make him soup as it is so comforting. This is a terrific recipe. Thank you again for posting it! It is so delicious and nutritious for him.
    Allyson

    Reply
  19. i just used ham to and a slice of bacon to make a boneless ham broth (plus a bunch of veggies of course) and it came out great. Your post inspired me to go for it. Super happy to know that this worked.

    Reply
    • That’s fantastic!!! I’m so thrilled and humbled to have brought you the inspiration to go for it!! Thank you for commenting…you really made my day!! Keep trying new things in your kitchen! You never know what magnificence is waiting for your creativity to discover it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment